Citizen Oversight Committee

  • Following through on its commitment to accountability, the Duval County School Board has formed an independent Citizen Oversight Committee to monitor the district’s spending of the new half-penny sales surtax.

    The committee includes representatives of a number of community organizations and an appointee from each of the seven school board members. The membership of the committee is set in school board policy 9.66.

    Their role is to monitor how the revenue from the surtax is spent and to help keep the public informed on the progress and implementation of the sales surtax plan as set forth in the school board’s resolution leading to the referendum. To serve, members must certify that they have no conflict of interest or any financial interest in the projects and initiatives funded through the new surtax. 

Voting Committee Members

  • Board Member Appointee - District 1

  • Board Member Appointee - District 2

  • Board Member Appointee - District 3

  • Board Member Appointee - District 4

  • Board Member Appointee - District 5

  • Board Member Appointee - District 6

  • Board Member Appointee - District 7

  • CPAC North - District 6

  • Duval Teachers United

  • Jacksonville Civic Council

  • Jacksonville Fraternal Order of Police

  • Jacksonville Joint Planning Committee

  • Jacksonville NAACP

  • Jacksonville Public Education Fund

  • Jacksonville Regional Chamber of Commerce

  • Non-consolidated Cities - Jacksonville Beach

  • Northeast Florida Association of Realtors

  • Northeast Florida Builders Association

  • Parent Organization - PTA

  • Post - Secondary Institution - Florida State College at Jacksonville

Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Members

  • Superintendent - Dr. Christopher Bernier

  • District Student Government Association Appointee - Riverside High School

Previous Committee Members

  • 2021-2023