• Student of the Month

    June/July 2022: Class of 2022 Wilson Scholars

    2022 Wilson Scholars  

    Wilson Scholars 2022

    June 9, 2022 – Dressed in their signature white dress shirt and red ties, 13 recent graduates and members of the 5000 Role Models of Excellence stood front and center during Tuesday’s School Board meeting to be recognized as Wilson Scholars.

    As Wilson scholars, these graduates are receiving scholarships ranging from $20,000 to FULL COST to one of three Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs): Clark Atlanta University, Benedict College, or Tennessee State University.

    The namesake of the scholarship program is Rep. Frederica Wilson who founded the 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project and established the scholarship program by collaborating with HBCUs across the country. The Wilson Scholars program offers qualifying seniors an opportunity to fulfill their dream of higher education by providing scholarship awards.

    Scholarship recipients were eligible based on their ability to maintain a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or higher, writing two essays, and by being an active participant of the 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project.

    The 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project is designed to equip minority male youth for success by providing them exposure to positive role models and diverse cultural and educational experiences such as college tours, etiquette workshops, and career-training resources.

    Scholarship recipients from Duval County Public Schools are:

    Andrew Jackson High School

    • Shaun Raymond

    Atlantic Coast High School

    • Tyree Soares

    First Coast High School

    • Freddie Coleman
    • Anthony Harrell

    Jean Ribault High School

    • Mykal Bolden
    • Joshua Delphone
    • Devonte Greene
    • Donovin Green
    • Amari Gunder
    • Terrell Shealy

    Riverside High School

    • Alfred Graham
    • Elijah Green

    Samuel W. Wolfson School for Advanced Studies and Leadership

    • Joshua Golden
    • Kristopher Mason

    Previous Honorees