• GEAR UP Logo

  • About Us

    In November 2017, Duval County Public Schools received a seven-year, $12-million-dollar grant from the US Department of Education (USDOE) to administer the Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Potential (GEAR UP) program. The ultimate goal of the GEAR UP Project is to empower students to attain a high school diploma and achieve enrollment in a college or university through comprehensive academic and support services. This project serves a cohort of over 2,000 students in 10 middle schools across Duval County beginning in 7th grade through the completion of their first year of college. The strategic alignment of the GEAR UP program is to develop the whole child through services such as mentoring, individual/group counseling, and academic/social supports.


Our Team

Name Title Email Phone
Christopher Jackson Director, GEAR UP jacksonc2@duvalschools.org 904.390.2030
Bernadette Hardeman Strong Supervisor, GEAR UP hardemanb@duvalschools.org 904.390.2030
Marshiray Griffin Specialist, GEAR UP griffinm9@duvalschools.org 904.390.2030
Alandrea Turner Specialist, GEAR UP turnera@duvalschools.org 904.390.2030
Traci Zamor School Counselor Specialist, GEAR UP zamort@duvalschools.org 904.390.2030
Eddie Kiep Specialist kiepe@duvalschools.org 904.390.2030
Gail Myers Secretary myersg2@duvalschools.org 904.390.2030