• GEAR UP Logo

  • About Us

    In November 2017, Duval County Public Schools received a seven-year, $12-million-dollar grant from the US Department of Education (USDOE) to administer the Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Potential (GEAR UP) program. The ultimate goal of the GEAR UP Project is to empower students to attain a high school diploma and achieve enrollment in a college or university through comprehensive academic and support services. This project serves a cohort of over 2,000 students in 10 middle schools across Duval County beginning in 7th grade through the completion of their first year of college. The strategic alignment of the GEAR UP program is to develop the whole child through services such as mentoring, individual/group counseling, and academic/social supports.


Our Team

Name Title Email Phone
Dr. Pamela Davis Director, GEAR UP davisp3@duvalschools.org 904.630.6950
Bernadette Hardeman Strong Supervisor, GEAR UP hardemanb@duvalschools.org 904.630.6950
Alandrea Turner Specialist, GEAR UP turnera@duvalschools.org 904.630.6950
Traci Zamor School Counselor Specialist, GEAR UP zamort@duvalschools.org 904.630.6950
Le'Titia Parsons Specialist, GEAR UP parsonsl1@duvalschools.org 904.630.6950
Dr. Melody Campbell Specialist, GEAR UP campbellm5@duvalschools.org 904.630.6950
LaUndra Austin Secretary, GEAR UP austinl@duvalschools.org 904.630.6950 ext. 1503